For Immediate Release: August 30, 2017

Minneapolis, MN – The National Recycling Coalition (NRC) is proud to announce the election of ten members to the NRC Board of Directors. Elections for the Board were held during the 2017 Resource Recycling Conference in Minneapolis, MN.

The new and re-elected Board Members, listed below, will each serve 3-year terms:

  • Mick Barry, President, Mid America Recycling and Managing Partner, M2B2
  • Barbara Eckstrom, Director of Recycling and Materials Management, Tompkins County
  • Wayne Gjerde, Recycling Market Development Coordinator, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Susan Gordon, Environmental Program Manager (Waste Reduction & Recycling), City of Fort Collins, CO
  • Leslie Lukacs, Director of Zero Waste, SCS Engineers
  • Kerrin O’Brien, Executive Director, Michigan Recycling Coalition
  • Sarah Pierpont, Executive Director, New Mexico Recycling Coalition
  • Charlotte Pitt, Manager, City and County of Denver
  • Antonio “Tony” Rios, Executive Director/President, Puerto Rico Solid Waste Authority/ Coalición de Reciclaje de Puerto Rico
  • Justin Stockdale, Regional Director, Pennsylvania Resources Council

The recently voted-in individuals join the following active members:

  • Susan Attridge, Director of Recycling, City of Buffalo, Department of Public Works, Parks and Streets
  • Stephen Bantillo, Executive Director, Recycling Certification Institute
  • Robert J. Bylone, Jr., Executive Director and President, Pennsylvania Recycling Markets Center
  • Maggie Clarke, Zero Waste Consultant, Maggie Clarke Environmental
  • George Dreckmann, Strategic Initiatives Coordinator, City of Madison, WI- Streets Division, retired
  • MaryEllen Etienne, President, Reuse International
  • Bob Gedert, Affiliate Senior Consultant, Resource Recycling Systems
  • Carey Hamilton, Executive Director, Indiana Recycling Coalition
  • Brent Hildebrand, VP Operations, Alpine Recycling and Waste
  • David Keeling, Director of Recycling, American Iron and Steel
  • Maite Quinn, Business Development and Marketing Manager, Sims Municipal Recycling
  • Lisa A. Skumatz, Principal Consultant/Research, Skumatz Economic Research Associates, and non-profit Econservation Institute
  • Robin Wiener, President, Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries
  • Melissa Young, Assistant Director, Syracuse University Center for Sustainable Community Solutions

The NRC wants to thank the following members that are leaving the Board:

  • Gary Bilbro, General Manager, Key Energy LLC
  • Jack DeBell, Development Director, University of Colorado Recycling
  • John Frederick, Executive Director, Intermunicipal Relations Committee
  • Juri Freeman, Sr. Consultant, Resource Recycling Systems (RRS)
  • Marjorie Griek, Principal, Pearl Consulting
  • Doug Hill, President, EcoVision Environmental
  • Gary Liss, Zero-Waste Consultant, Gary Liss & Associates
  • Will Sagar, Executive Director, Southeast Recycling Development Center
  • Michael Van Brunt, Director of Sustainability, Covanta

Ex-officio members include Michele Nestor, Recycling Organizations Council (ROC)-chair, and honorary lifetime members Cliff Case of Carter, Ledyard & Milburn, LLC, Murray Fox with i-ROC, Bill Heenan, Mark Lichtenstein, Chief of Staff and Executive Director of Sustainability at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, and Gary Liss, Zero-Waste Consultant, Gary Liss & Associates. Officers will be elected at the next in-person Board meeting today, August 30, 2017 during the 2017 Resource Recycling Conference

“I am so thrilled with the election of these candidates to carry on the great work that the NRC is doing” said NRC President, Bob Gedert.

For more information contact NRC Staff at [email protected]